PoliceCensus

Home / States / Alaska / North Slope Borough Police Department

North Slope Borough Police Department

City agency in North Slope, Alaska, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
AK0011800
Type
City
County
North Slope
State
Alaska (AK)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-01-01
Location
69.4493, -153.4728

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 10,510.

47Sworn officers
27Civilian staff
7.04Employees per 1,000 people
10,510Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025472710,5107.04
2024501910,5646.53
2023452510,6986.54
2022402910,9596.30
202143329,3108.06
202045319,8367.73
201945319,8017.75
201842289,7437.18
201746289,5397.76
201647279,7107.62
201537249,7076.28
201437249,6916.29

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by North Slope Borough Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12552749.1%
202512864552.3%
202412633352.4%
202312693246.4%
202212814353.1%
202112923538.0%
2020121266954.8%
2019121236855.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1238718.4%
2025121101816.4%
2024125635.4%
20231279810.1%
20221266710.6%
202112601626.7%
20201254713.0%
2019127545.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record AK0011800.

Arrests

Arrests made by North Slope Borough Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12167
202512282
202412285
202312375
202212416
202112302
202012274
201912367

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record AK0011800.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for North Slope Borough Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record AK0011800.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

6 people have died during an encounter with North Slope Borough Police Department between 2003 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

6Deaths recorded
57.09Per 100,000 people policed
2003–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot6

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (5) and Fatal Encounters (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of North Slope Borough Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2002 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm6
Knife or other cutting instrument9
Hands, fists or feet72
Other weapon18
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20020081
20030020
20040021
20050030
20060040
20070020
20090010
20100130
20110160
20120040
20130140
20140040
20150010
20160020
20191020
20201081
20210131
20221016
20230024
20243064
20250540

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record AK0011800. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.